Ludwig-Maximilians-Universit?t München

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation



- Foto: bigbeef /

Source: Bigbeef /

Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München is a public corporation with the right of self-governance within the confines of the law. At the same time, it is a state entity divided into a central administration and 18 faculties. The University Executive Board is composed of six members: the president and five vice presidents. The University Executive Board consults with its main advisory board, the University Council, comprised of members of the university as well as high-ranking and experienced representatives from the private sector, the professional world and other branches of academia. The University Governing Board consists of members of the Executive Board, the deans and the women’s representative of the university. To develop competitive procedures adapted to the logic and specific performance of the different subject groups, a system of consultative committees was introduced, the functions of which are defined in LMU Munich’s Basic Statutes.

The faculties themselves house various academic bodies such as departments and institutes, as well as managing units. In order to strengthen interdisciplinary collaboration, members of these academic bodies can merge to form crossdisciplinary centers.

University Council

As the central decision-making body, the University Council functions as a governing board. The president and vice presidents are elected by the Council, which can also remove such individuals from service. Among other things, the Council enacts the university constitution, i.e., its basic statutes, decides upon matters relating to university development, and establishes, alters, or cancels degree programs. The University Council has a four-year term.

University Governing Board

The University Governing Board is responsible for the university development plan and decides upon the organization of the university into faculties.


LMU Munich is a so-called "group university", a self-governing university in which all groups that are stakeholders are represented in its corporate bodies, i.e.:

  • Professors
  • Academic staff
  • Non-academic staff
  • Students

Each of these four groups appoints delegates to respective committees according to an allotment system.

Board of University Representatives

The Board of University Representatives consists of 16 elected members as well as the women’s representative and her deputy. The six members of the University Executive Board attend the meetings in an advisory capacity. The University Representatives vote, among other things, on fundamental questions of research, the promotion of young academics, and the fulfillment of gender equality as well as exam and degree regulations. They also comment on nominations for professorships.

The Faculty Councils

There are 18 Faculty Councils, each the embodiment of the faculties’ writ of self-governance. The Faculty Councils elect the faculty spokespersons (deans), the vice-deans of students, and the vice-deans for research from among the professors. Within their respective faculties, the Councils discuss and adjudicate all major issues which don’t fall under the jurisdiction of the dean or another faculty organ. The Faculty Council consists of members of the four stakeholder groups as well as the faculty’s women’s representative.

University Women’s Representative

The women’s representative supports the university “in achieving its task of promoting the fulfillment of gender equality” (§ 46 LMU university constitution). As a member of all university committees, she ensures that considerations of equality are appropriately observed, for instance, in the appointment of professors or future university planning. She counsels women and men on a variety of issues and also initiates, develops, and coordinates gender-specific projects.

Responsible for content: Communications & Media Relations